Skip to Content

What are the Four Treasures of Ruin in Pokémon Scarlet and Violet?

You had me at treasures.
Image Via Game Freak

The amount of content in Pokémon Scarlet and Violet continues to amaze me. The numbers also speak for themselves, breaking Nintendo records without even trying (the lackluster performance even suggest that). Love it or hate it, it is an achievement, and people are enjoying it, so we better just embrace it. Along the newly introduced Paradox Pokémon along the new ninth generation Pokémon from the Paldea region, we are introduced to some mystery in Scarlet and Violet. And that is what they call the “Four Treasures of Ruin”. What are the Four Treasures of Ruin in Pokémon Scarlet and Violet? Let’s find out.

What are the Four Treasures of Ruin

So, when you read Treasures of Ruin, you probably are thinking of objects or a group of objects with insane amount of value. Well, you would be wrong in almost anything, except for the value. You see, the Four Treasures of Ruin are in fact Legendary Pokémon scattered around the region of Paldea, and secured in their own shrines. They are Wo-Chien, Chien-Pao, Tun-Lu and Chi-Yu. Personally, I find their names to be awesome. We could say the same for the way we are supposed to encounter them.

Wo-Chien Icons
Dark/GrassTablets of Ruin
Chien-Pao Icons
Dark/IceSword of Ruin
Ting-Lu icon
Dark/GroundVessel of Ruin
Chi-Yu Icon
Dark/FireBeads of Ruin

How to Catch the Four Treasures of Ruin

You can begin your search as soon as you reach Mesagoza, but you need to unlock your Ride Pokémon’s ability to climb mountains and elevations in order to reach them. You will learn this ability at the end of the main storyline called Path of Legends. Afterwards, in order to enter each of the Treasure’s shrines in order to catch them, you will need to collect colored stakes that are located across Paldea and close to their respective shrine. Purple stakes will open up Wo-Chien shrine, yellow, Chien-Pao’s, green, Ting-Lu’s and blue, Chi-Yu’s. After collection 8 stakes for each shrine, you will be able to unlock their entrances and battle the Legendary Pokémon and, hopefully, catch them and add them to your collection.

Related: How to Play Area Zero in Multiplayer in Pokémon Scarlet and Violet

Be sure to encounter these Legendary beasts and explore all the region while you do that. Be free to catch ’em all to complete the lists of Paldea’s Pokémon fauna, and finish that living Pokédex of yours, you Poké catching thing.

Pokémon Scarlet and Violet is available on Nintendo Switch. If you like our Pokémon content, be sure to check out How Does Breeding Work in Pokémon Scarlet and Violet?, and What Area Has the Highest Level Pokémon in Pokémon Scarlet and Violet?.

Back to Navigation