Skip to Content

Splitgate Ranked Mode Overview

Splitgate Ranked Mode

Splitgate, the free-to-play shooter that’s been billed as “Halo meets Portal,” has been doing pretty well for itself so far, despite still being in a beta period. It’s managed to attract a respectably-sized playerbase, many of whom are having themselves a grand old time shooting each other through space and time. But any young shooter that wants to really be taken seriously needs one thing above all else: a good ranked mode. Here’s an overview of Splitgate’s ranked mode.

While Splitgate is still in a beta state, its ranked mode has been up and running for a little while now, albeit with some occasional server difficulties brought on by a large volume of players. Hey, it’s still better than some major shooters. Anywho, ranked play utilizes a static 4-on-4 team setting with a set playlist of Domination, King of the Hill, and Team Deathmatch game modes. In a similar vein to Halo, players will begin every match in every game mode with a pistol and a carbine, but there are weapons lying around you can swap them for.

Splitgate Ranked Mode Overview

As for how the rankings are actually determined, Splitgate uses an ELO points system. Many modern online shooters use similar systems, though, fun fact, it was originally invented for use in professional chess. In layman’s terms, an ELO system allocates points to players based on how they perform in a match. Win, and you gain points. Lose, and you lose points. Earning a certain amount of points will place you into higher point brackets, where more challenging players are looking to stake their claims. The brackets and their point thresholds are as follows:

  • Bronze (0 – 1499)
  • Silver (1500 – 1999)
  • Gold (2000 – 2499)
  • Platinum (2500 – 2999)
  • Diamond (3000 – 3499)
  • Master (3500 – 3999)
  • Champion (4000+)
Back to Navigation