Skip to Content

How to get Kyber Bricks in LEGO Star Wars Skywalker Saga

Just because they're square, that doesn't make them any less valuable.
Image via TT Games/Warner Bros. Games

In the Star Wars mythos, Kyber Crystals are special space-borne crystals that are naturally attuned to the wavelengths of the Force. This is why they’re vital in the construction of Jedi and Sith Lightsabers. Through the lens of LEGO, Kyber Crystals become Kyber Bricks, but just because they’re square, that doesn’t make them any less valuable. Here’s how to get Kyber Bricks in LEGO Star Wars Skywalker Saga.

Kyber Bricks are a secondary currency in LEGO Star Wars Skywalker Saga. Rather than being used to buy and unlock stuff like Studs, Kyber Bricks are used to upgrade your characters. You can buy Core Upgrades that affect all of the characters you use, as well as Class Skills that apply specifically to a subset of characters like Droids, Jedi, and so on. There are a grand total of 1166 Kyber Bricks in the game, and if you want to get all of them, you’ll have to be really thorough as you play through levels and the overworld.

How to get Kyber Bricks in LEGO Star Wars Skywalker Saga

Throughout the various levels and hubs of LEGO Star Wars Skywalker Saga, there are seven ways to score more Kyber Bricks:

  • Complete levels
  • Achieve True Jedi
  • Complete level Challenges
  • Complete Minikits
  • Kyber Comets
  • Side missions and puzzles
  • Overworld Challenges

Complete Levels

This is an easy one. Every time you finish a level in LEGO Star Wars Skywalker Saga for the first time, you’ll get one Kyber Brick on the house. As there are 45 levels in the game, that’s 45 Kyber Bricks guaranteed from just playing through the main story.

Achieve True Jedi

If you look at the top of the screen while playing through a level, you’ll see a long meter in three segments that fill up as you collect Studs. Each segment of the meter you fill up rewards you one Kyber Brick, and if you fill the whole thing, you’ll achieve True Jedi status for that level, netting you three Kyber Bricks in total.

Complete Level Challenges

Every level has a set of three Challenges to complete. These usually involve performing a certain action with a certain character, accomplishing a goal within a time limit, or finding a particular collectible. Complete all three Challenges, and that’s a Kyber Brick for you. Unfortunately, the game won’t tell you what a particular level’s Challenges are until you’ve already accomplished them, but you can get hints about them by buying Rumors around the overworld.

Complete Minikits

A tradition for all LEGO games, the Minikits are hidden collectibles that, when assembled, create a nifty mini LEGO model. Every level in LEGO Star Wars Skywalker Saga has five Minikits to uncover, and getting all five will earn you a Kyber Brick. Minikits are usually either hidden in very obscure places or blocked by a specific kind of hazard, and many of them can’t be obtained with the story characters you have to use on your first jaunt through a level. You’ll need to come back later in Free Play with more characters unlocked to get them.

Kyber Comets

Image via TT Games/Warner Bros. Games

As you fly around the various sections of settled space, you may occasionally spot a large, blue comet hurtling by. These are Kyber Comets, and if you blast them apart with your ship’s weapons, you’ll reveal a whopping five Kyber Bricks within. Every region of space has one Kyber Comet, so make sure to hunt them down as soon as you’re allowed free reign.

Side Missions and Puzzles

Throughout the various planets that make up the overworld, you’ll find civilian NPCs milling about. If you see an NPC with a little Kyber Brick icon over their head, they’ll have a favor they want you to do for them. These Side Missions usually involve beating lots of enemies, finding certain collectibles, escorting GNK Droids, or smashing a number of items, and they’re usually all found close to the NPC you spoke to. Completing Side Missions will earn you unlockable characters, vehicles, and of course, Kyber Bricks.

Additionally, you may also spot unusual mechanisms around the overworld, such as locked crates or doors with barriers. These mechanisms usually have a small puzzle hidden nearby that, when solved, provides the same kinds of rewards as Side Missions, Kyber Bricks included. You’ll have an easier time finding both Side Missions and puzzles if you buy the Collectible Detector upgrade.

Overworld Challenges

In addition to the individual level Challenges, there are a handful of large-scale Challenges to complete in the overworld. These usually include finding a large number of something hidden around the galaxy, such as Golden Starships, lost Wookies, and more. If you can fully complete one of these Challenges, you’ll earn a bundle of Kyber Bricks, usually ranging from 2 to 5.

Part of the fun of LEGO games is uncovering everything these blocky worlds have to offer, so make sure to take a good, long look around every level, planet, and region of space as you try to obtain more Kyber Bricks.

About the author

Daniel Trock

Since the first time he picked up a controller as a child, Daniel has been a dyed-in-the-wool gaming fanatic, with a Steam library numbering over 600 games. His favorite pastime, aside from playing games, is doing deep dives on game wikis to learn more about their lore and characters.

Back to Navigation