Skip to Content

How to Save in Far Cry 6?

How to Save in Far Cry 6?
Image via Ubisoft

So did I miss a memo that said saving your game isn’t cool anymore? Autosave systems are definitely more stable than they were a decade or two ago, but speaking as someone with a tinge of the ol’ OCD, it’s still preferable to be able to manually save your game before you stop playing for the day. Maybe manual save systems are expensive to make or something. Well, whatever the reason, you’re probably wondering how to save in Far Cry 6.

In case that little lead-in didn’t tip you off, Far Cry 6 does not feature any kind of manual saving system. You can’t save from the pause menu, and there are no designated save points anywhere in the world. The only way to save your progress is to wait for the little autosave icon to show up, which in this case looks like a couple of pieces of paper in the top right of the screen. 

How to Save in Far Cry 6?

On the bright side, the autosave system is pretty thorough, so you should have a save go off every few minutes or so. Just to give you a few examples, the game autosaves when:

  • An NPC sends you a message
  • You finish a mission
  • A cutscene ends
  • You find items

Unfortunately, due to the nature of autosave, you can only have one save file on your system at a time, so if you wanted to have a second campaign run going concurrently, you want to experiment with something, or you have to share the game with someone else, you’re just kind of out of luck.

Speaking of sharing, it should also be noted that when playing co-op, any autosave either player triggers will save the game for both players. This is actually kind of helpful, as one person can trigger a save even if both players aren’t in the same area.

For more related content and guides, check out our Far Cry 6 section.

Back to Navigation