Skip to Content

VALORANT Map Overviews

There are currently four active maps in the VALORANT map rotation: Haven, Bind, Split, and Ascent. These map overviews will help you learn the maps including the different bomb sites, callouts, and angles.

As with any competitive FPS game, knowing the maps is one of the most important things you can do to get an advantage. Knowing your way around the map creates more game sense and higher confidence, making you an overall better player.

The Riot Games creative team chooses map names for a reason. For example, Bind is “bound” together by two teleporters. Split has an obvious aesthetic change from one side of the map to the other, and Haven is a secluded temple area. Ascent is the newest addition which was added during launch on June 2.

VALORANT Map Overviews

You can find VALORANT map overviews down below for the maps currently in rotation, which are:

  • Haven
  • Bind
  • Split
  • Ascent

Haven Map Overview

Haven is unique because it has three bombsites instead of two. Defenders in Haven will have to cover a lot more ground and spread their squad thing to make sure each bombsite is defended.

There is more space to fall back on this map, allowing for some aggressive defensive plays. The map still plays like a traditional competitive FPS map, but the third bomb site helps make things interesting.

VALORANT Haven Map Overview

Bind Map Overview

Bind has two bombsites, but no mid area that competitive FPS players are used to seeing. There are direct paths to both bomb sites, and one interesting new mechanic: teleporters. These will transport you from one bomb site to the other rather quickly. The downfall to these is that they make loud noises every time you use them, so you become an easy target.

Due to the teleportation this map offers, it looks like it will be action-packed and fast-paced. This is the second map to be confirmed for VALORANT at the moment after Haven. Check out our in-depth Bind map guide that includes callouts, angles to play, and more.

Bind Map Overview
Bind Map Overview

Split Map Overview

The Split map is composed of two bombsites located on the opposite sides of the map. There are four main chokepoints on this map, including two leading to the A site, one leading directly to the B site, and one in the middle area.

VALORANT Split Map Overview

Ascent Overview

Ascent is the newest map in the rotation, and it was added during launch on June 2. The map features two bombsites, each with two primary entry points. Bombsite A has a wraparound through heaven in which attackers can get to the defense spawn and wrap to B.

The B area has a main area, and two main entry points or three if you leave middle open allowing the attackers to wrap around to CT spawn.

VALORANT Ascent Map Overview

Shooting Range Overview

The Shooting Range is where you can practice firing weapons in an open range. You can also practice spike planting and defusing so you know how to do it in an actual match. Here are the activities in the Shooting Range Practice Mode:

  • Open Range – Freely explore the entire range and all it has to offer.
  • Shooting Test – Test your gun skills with a variety of shooting challenges.
  • Spike Planting – Take control of the site, plant the Spike, and defend it until detonation
  • Spike Defuse – Methodically defeat enemies and defuse the spike before time runs out.
Practice Mode Overview

To access the Shooting Range, click on “PRACTICE” from the very top right of the screen. From here you can select from the four different practice modes.

If you click “Shooting Test”, you can practice against targets and see how high of a score you can get. You can also choose to enable Bot Armor and Infinite Ammo by hitting the F3 key. Freely switch between any character by hitting the F2 key to change.

VALORANT Shooting Range Overview
VALORANT Shooting Range Overview

Valorant Maps FAQ

How many maps are on Valorant?

There are currently four maps on Valorant.

What are the maps in Valorant?

The four maps in Valorant map rotation are Haven, Bind, Split, and Ascent. You can see all four VALORANT map overviews in this post.

Is there a practice mode in Valorant?

Yes, there is a practice mode in Valorant. It is accessible through the main menu if you click play. You can choose from a variety of options including the shooting range or a specific map.

What is heaven in Valorant?

Players referring to heaven typically mean an area above ground level overlooking a bombsite or other location. The term originated in Counter-Strike and is used in many first-person shooter games, which is why heaven is a callout in Valorant.

What does CT mean in Valorant?

The term CT comes from Counter-Strike, and it means counter-terrorist. In Valorant, CT means the defending team, whereas T means the attacking team.

Back to Navigation